Program

Saas-Fee Summer Institute of Art III, Berlin
Art & the Politics of Collectivity

July 3-28, 2017

SFSIA’s Evening Public Program is free and open to the public. All lectures run from 7:30-9:00pm at Spike Art Quarterly: Rosa-Luxemburg-Strasse 45, 10178 Berlin.

Tuesday, July 4
Yann Moulier Boutang

Wednesday, July 5
Antonia Majaca

Thursday, July 6
Tiziana Terranova

Friday, July 7
Franco “Bifo” Berardi

Saturday, July 8
A Tribute to Mark Fisher, 10am-6pm. Featuring Franco “Bifo” Berardi, Jeremy Gilbert, Tariq Goddard, Christian Kobald, Carl Melville, Seb Olma, and Alexander Scrimgeour

Monday, July 10
Hans Ulrich Obrist

Tuesday, July 11
Jodi Dean

Wednesday, July 12
Warren Neidich

Thursday, July 13
Marie-Luise Angerer

Friday, July 14
Lambros Malafouris

Monday, July 17
Ari Benjamin Meyers

Tuesday, July 18
Arne De Boever

Wednesday, July 19
Helen Hester

Thursday, July 20
Yuk Hui

Friday, July 21
Defne Ayas

Monday, July 24
Julieta Gonzalez

Tuesday, July 25
Ming Wong

Wednesday, July 26
Isaac Julien

In the last year our society has undergone a traumatic shock with the election of Donald Trump and the Brexit referendum. Many explanations for these events have been put forward such as: alienation of the Fordist and Post-Fordist laborer in the transition to a new information-based economy; a global economy that is beneficial only for the 1%; and a return to nativism, nationalism, and anti-immigration agendas fueled by racism—to name just a few.

This summer’s academy will hope to find some responses to these startling events. It will ask the question, “In a world in which we are more and more connected with the help of computational machines, what happens to our sense of collectivity?” Can we, in our moment of cognitive capitalism, with the brain and mind as the new factories, find a place for the displaced body? Are we becoming less empathic? Is the accelerated change brought on by new digital technologies too rapid to become accustomed to?

Key to our collective analysis will be a deep understanding of certain key concepts that will form the hubs in our shared thought diagram. Among these is the undercommons, which refers to outcast, mass intellectuality always at odds with the professionalization of the University, which attempts to normalize it in order to make it common again. Secondly, the issues surrounding cosmopolitanism, which confronts itself beyond the privileges of global tourism and elite culture, respecting local differences and universal rights simultaneously. Thirdly, theories of collectivity will be critiqued through theories of mind, extended cognition, social neuroscience, mirror neurons and most importantly empathy—a form of “mind reading.”

For art students, practicing artists, art historians, art critics, critical theorists, curators and architects who are looking for a deeper theoretical understanding of their practice.